Licensure Guide

To help ease the process of finding work as a traveling RN, you have to be licensed by the state where you will be working as a nurse, and you will also need a multistate license.

View Licensing Guides Per State

Search Results

Travel Nurses, All Professions
Travel Nurses, All Professions
Travel Nurses, All Professions
West Virginia
Travel Nurses, All Professions
Travel Nurses, All Professions
Travel Nurses, All Professions

Licensing Guide For Travel Nurses In Florida


  1. Submit an application for Licensure by Endorsement online
  2. Pay the associated fees
  3. An electronic fingerprint appointment with a Livescan service provider and get fingerprinted and bring the Electronic Fingerprinting form with you.
  4. Verification of all licenses
    • If the state participates in Nursys, you must complete the Nursys verification process, pay their fee and designate Florida as the receipt of the verification.
    • If the state does not participate in Nursys, you must contact their state Board directly for further instructions. They will need to submit an official Verification of License form to the Florida Board of Nursing on your behalf.

* Once all materials are submitted, an application specialist will review them. It may be necessary for the application specialist to request additional information.


  1. Proof of citizenship or legal presence
  2. Verification of All Licenses
  3. Official sealed transcripts
  4. 2hr Prevention of Medical Errors course   



Temporary License Time-Frame: Within 30 days – valid for 6 months (must not have any prior convictions OR disciplinary actions. 

Permanent License: A minimum of 10 days and within 30 days upon receipt of a completed application and all required documents.


Renewal of your license occurs every 2 years

  • Online renewal application
  • Pay the associated fees

24 hours of appropriate continuing education during each renewal period, including:

  • Two (2) hours relating to the prevention of medical errors
  • Two (2) hours in Laws and Rules in Nursing

In addition to these 24 hours of general continuing education, every third renewal two (2) hours of domestic violence continuing education must be completed for a total of 26 hours.

If you are applying to “upgrade” to the multistate license and Florida is your primary state, you must complete a Livescan background screening if you have not done so within 90 days of applying.


Endorsement Application and Licensing

Start building your career today!